2021 CSME Tech Awards Winners

NEWS Communiqué (click to download pdf)

The Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering (CSME), founded in 1970, is pleased to announce the winning recipients of its 2021 technical awards. These awards may be bestowed biannually to members of the society for their outstanding contributions to specific areas of mechanical engineering in Canada.

The following three exceptional engineers will be presented with their medals at the 2021 CSME International Congress currently scheduled to be held on 27-30 June 2021 at the Faculty of Sustainable Design Engineering, University of Prince Edward Island, Charlottetown, PE. Each winner will also be presenting a plenary lecture at the 2021 Congress.

Please consider attending the 2021 CSME International Congress to congratulate these exceptional winners and attend their lectures: https://www.csmecongress.org/.


Jules Stachiewicz Medal

For “exceptional contributions in research and development of advanced thermal spray heating coatings and modelling of phase change phenomena”

André McDonald, Ph.D., MCSME

Professor and Associate Chair, Mechanical Engineering Dept, University of Alberta, AB


Emerging Technologies Medal

For “exceptional research and innovation contributions to the field of microfluidics”

Mina Hoorfar, Ph.D., FCSME

Professor and Director of School of Engineering, University of British Columbia Okanagan, BC


Mechatronics Medal

For “exceptional contributions to robotics and automation at micro-nano scales”

Yu Sun, Ph.D., FCSME

Professor and Director of Robotics Institute, MIE Department, University of Toronto, ON